IEEE Bangladesh Section




    IEEE Bangladesh Section was formed in November 1993 with 54 members. Since then, the membership has been growing steadily. Presently the section has the 9 chapters and 2 affinity groups, namely, Women in Engineering and Young Professionals. The Section has been actively organizing seminars, workshops and short courses on different topics of electrical, electronic, communication and computer engineering. Both the academic and industrial speakers from different countries delivered lectures in those programs. The Section first initiated a National Conference on Electrotechnology in 1995 (ET95) which eventually turned into a Biennial conference entitled International Conference on Electrical and Computer Engineering (ICECE) since 2001. The Section has been technical co-sponsor of ICECE organized by the EEE Department of BUET. The Section is also a technical co-sponsor of International Conference on Computers and Information Technology (ICCIT). Both the conferences are regular events in Bangladesh participated by a large number of foreign and local technical communities. To learn more, visit the website through the link below.

    Chapters & Affinity Groups

    IEEE Bangladesh Section has various Chapters under the following Societies & Affinity Groups :

    Student Branches

    IEEE Bangladesh Section consists of 36 different Student Branches.

    2015 Outstanding Section Membership Recruitment Performance Award

    IEEE Bangladesh Section is the proud recipient of the 2015 Outstanding Section Membership Recruitment Performance Award, for the efforts made in continuing to grow IEEE membership in Bangladesh.
    award 2

    IEEE Bangladesh Section Executives


    Dr. Celia Shahnaz

    IEEE Bangladesh Section

    Mr. Yeasir Arafat

    Vice-Chair (Activity), IEEE Bangladesh Section

    Mohammad Zakaria Haider

    IEEE Bangladesh Section

    Md Romael Haque

    IEEE Bangladesh Section


    Section Achievements


    IEEE AIUB STUDENT BRANCH has been awarded 2017 IEEE MGA Regional Exemplary Student Branch Award from IEEE Region 10


    IEEE Bangladesh Section has been awarded 2017 Outstanding Section Membership Recruitment Award for its three years in a row performance - 2015, 2016 and 2017


    IEEE WIE Affinity Group Bangladesh Section has been awarded 2017 WIE Affinity Group of the year award by Global WIE for the activities in 2016

    Member Achievements

    Professor Dr. Shaikh Anowarul Fattah
    Nominations and Appointments Chair,
    IEEE Bangladesh Section

    • Professor Dr. Shaikh Anowarul Fattah has been awarded IEEE R10 HTA Outstanding Volunteer Award 2017.
    A. N. M. Nasimunnabi

    A. N. M. Nasimunnabi
    Former Section Student Representative (2016),
    IEEE Bangladesh Section

    • A. N. M. Nasimunnabi has been awarded IEEE R10 SAC Outstanding Volunteer Award 2017.
    tanseer sir

    Dr. M. Tanseer Ali
    Senior Assistant Professor, AIUB
    Professional Activitis Coordinator, IEEE Bangladesh Section

    • M. Tanseer Ali, Former Counselor, IEEE AIUB Student Branch has won 2017 IEEE MGA Outstanding Branch Counselor Award from IEEE Region 10.

    Anindo Saha
    Former Outreach Program Coordinator (2017),
    IEEE Region 10 Student Activities Committee

    • Anindo Saha has been awarded 2017 IEEE MGA Larry K. Wilson Regional Student Activities Award.

    IEEE Bangladesh Section SB EX-COM Summit 2016

    IEEE Bangladesh Section, in association with IEEE AIUB Student Branch, organized the IEEE Bangladesh Section Student Branch Executive-Committee (EX-COM) Summit 2016 at the American International University-Bangladesh (AIUB) on 25th March, 2016. The event was organized to allow Executive Members from different Student Branches to interact with the Sectional Executive Committee and representatives from other Student Branches; in order to collaborate, share ideas and provide solutions.